Biomimicry – The Future of Our Planet

15 May

In my last post I informed you a little about what the term “Biomimetcs” means and I also gave you some examples for the use of Biomimetics in technology and architecture. As I am now totally obsessed about this fascinating topic I thought it will be a good idea to continue my research in this area.

As I was browsing through the internet in search of some interesting results on the topic of “Biomimetics”, I understood that there is actually another word describing the same term – “Biomimicry”. When I entered this term into the search engine I came across far more interesting results. First I found out a very inspiring video by Janine Benyus, describing the Biomimicry in action. In this video, Janine Benyus gives a lot of examples of nature inspired technologies. She also sends a clear message to the viewers, that when we are trying to solve a technological issue, we first have to look at the nature and its creations, because only there we can find all the answers.

After I viewed this interesting video I went on with my search. What I found out next, was the most fascinating article ever. The article called “The 15 Coolest Cases of Biomimicry”, embraces 15 examples of different kinds of nature inspired inventions, created by humans. Technological breakthroughs, such as Whalepower Wind Turbine, Self-Healing Plastics or Diatomaceous Nanotech, that can help us create a better world, would not have existed nowadays if it wasn’t the nature to inspire their inventors.

It is just amazing how Bomimicry help us optimize the work of the existing technological achievements as in the case of Whalepower Wind Turbines mentioned above. Using Whalepower Wind Turbine blades instead of smooth surface blades can increase the efficiency with 20%, which can contribute for the Wind Turbines to become the preferable renewable energy source which in other hand would take us one step ahead in achieving a carbon free economy.

Another very interesting example of Biomimicry intervention in technology is the “Shinkansen Bullet Train” in Japan – the fastest train in the world. After experiencing some problems with the initial design of the train, the train’s engineers decided to look in the nature for an answer. They redesigned the front end of the train using the beak of the kingfisher as a model and were able to create a much quieter train, which also helped achieving higher speed and use less energy.

I can continue giving a lot of interesting examples of Biomimicry, but for now I would just advise you to go over the links that I provide in this post and find your inspiration from the nature. So, do not waste more time, dig in and let your imagination do the work.

If you want to explore more please visit:

http://www.designboom.com/contemporary/biomimicry.html

http://bio-sensinginventions.blogspot.com/

http://hubpages.com/hub/Inventions-Inspired-by-Animals

http://www.greenwavelength.com/tag/biomimicry/

2 Responses to “Biomimicry – The Future of Our Planet”

  1. domwoj May 17, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Hi Diane.
    I can imagine that you are now obsessed by that topic, I agree that it is highly interesting and the more you read about it, the more you know and the more you get interested. I think that we humans can learn a lot from nature and that we should never stop researching.
    When I first read the word “Biomimicry” I didn’t have a clue at all what it is about. But reading through your article step by step I received answers to the questions I had and had a brief but profound lesson in the approach “solving technological problems by the inspiration of nature.” The examples you gave considerably attracted my attention while reading.
    I also had a quick look into the video, I didn’t watch it entirely as it is quite long, but it was a good choice as it serves additional material regarding your topic.
    I really enjoyed it!

  2. Eldiar Nyshanov(299332) May 17, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Hi Dian,
    you wrote my favorite topic, I heard about the “Shinkansen Bullet Train” so many times, but never tried to search it further, after having read your post, it was a great motivation to dig it out till the end. So I really liked your chosen theme, I also find so many sources about the fastest train, so called Vactrain, here some explanations in details, and my following post is also connected with E.T.T (https://futurima.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/futuristic-vactrain/?preview=true&preview_id=304&preview_nonce=4885f80747)
    Further informations: http://www.futurenewsnetwork.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=29057%3Aet3-has-developed-a-vactrain-that-travels-at-5000-mph-&catid=34%3Afeature&lang=en
    http://blogs.howstuffworks.com/2010/08/17/how-5000-mph-vactrains-work-aka-evacuated-tube-transport-could-completely-transform-global-transportation/

    Well done Dian, I am thankful for your helpful and useful topic.
    Best regards Eldiar

Leave a Reply

