Say Bye Bye To My Fear of Technology

26 Jun

Technology is all around us nowadays. If you think about it we do not go anywhere without our laptops or smart phones because we are afraid of losing the connection with the world. But why people became addicted to technology? I think the answer to this question is quite obvious. People became addicted simply because first – technology is widely used by great amount of people all over the world, there are no borders for it; second – technology can really make our lives easier. For example, thanks to VoiP programs such as Skype, we can cheaply get in touch with our families, living two thousand kilometers from us, which certainly is the case with me.

Unfortunately technology can cost us a lot of nerves and time if we do not know how to use it properly. Typical example is what happened last week with my computer. While I was correcting some parts of my term paper, a blue screen unexpectedly appeared on my desktop and the computer shut down. I was trying with hours to start it again or at least to save my personal data, but how you may guess it was too late. All my personal data along with some essays that I needed to submit the following week were gone. Thanks to technology I now had something that would keep me awake during the nights. Anyway I remembered that I saved some of my information on a USB-stick, so it was not so bad.

What I was trying to say in the paragraph above is simply that technology is very powerful tool that can really make our lives easier. But that could only happen when we know how to properly use it. Coming from this observation, I was really excited when I saw the presentation on Web Work, where Dr. Spear introduced to us some very interesting pieces of technology. Although some of the topics introduced, seem to be really advanced, I think that everyone who uses technology nowadays, and obviously everybody does, should have at least an idea of how they function. For example, I think that almost everybody would have something to do with HTML in the future, so it would be really nice to know what HTML is and how it functions.

For my essay I have chosen to tell you something more about the plugins for one of the most widely used web browsers, namely Firefox. A week ago, when I installed my first add-on for the Firefox Browser, I was not quite aware of how powerful these extensions are.

Ok, I would now start from the beginning of my add-on journey. Before I went installing new extensions, I decided to find out which are the most popular add-ons. So to accomplish that, I simply opened my Mozilla Firefox browser and clicked on “Tools” and then “Add-ons”, after which a small window appeared on my screen. I then clicked on “Get Add-ons” and “Browse All Add-ons”, and as a result a new tab, listing all existing Add-ons, appeared. Because I wanted to find which are to most popular extensions, I simply clicked on “Popular”. I was quite impressed by the add-on that appeared first in the popular list, namely “Adblock Plus”. I was quite excited to find that there is actually a tool that can block the so undesirable ads that appear in almost every website that I visit. So I did not thought much about it, I just clicked on “+ Add to Firefox” and proceed with the installation. The installation process is actually quite simple, what you have to remember is that after installation a browser restart would be needed. I would also recommend that you install “Adblock Plus: Element Hiding Helper”. If you do not know how to find the latter, just type the name in the search field situated in the top right corner of the Firefox add-ons page. After you install and restart the browser for a second time, a filter subscription filter would appear on your screen, where it is preferable to select “EasyList”. Now you are ready to explore the features of these extensions.

If you want to see how this actually works you can simply open www.msn.com, where a lot of ads appear all the time. If you want to block a certain ad, just go to that ad with the mouse and click the right button, then simply select “Adblock Plus: Block image”. After you click on it anther menu should appear where you should simply click “Add filter”. After you have accomplished these three simple steps, the ad should no longer be bothering you.

I would now want to tell you how to use the other interesting extension, namely “Adblock Plus: Element Hiding Helper”. This add-on is especially useful if you want to remove a text ad from a certain website. What you should do first is to go and click on the “ABP” icon which should appear in the top right corner of your browser. When you click on this icon a drop-down menu would appear. There you should select “Select element to hide”. After you do that a hotkey menu would appear, and you would notice that some elements of the ad are highlighted in a red field. By using the mouse you have to make sure that the whole ad is selected, after which you have to press the letter “S”. Then a preview, of how the page would look like after your adjustments, would appear. If you approve it just press “Add Filter Rule” and your changes would be applied.

How you see from the examples that I presented above, Firefox add-ons can be really useful. Knowing how to use these extensions is really essential, taking in to account the benefits they have on our daily web browsing. Having now used Adblock Plus for a week I can say that it is really a powerful tool because thanks to it I can easily ignore the annoying ads that appear when I visit my favorite web sites, and just take the control in my hands.

One Response to “Say Bye Bye To My Fear of Technology”

  1. Marina Zaitseva June 26, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

Leave a Reply

